Today, our new music spotlight is on Mellow Gang.

Location: London

Line-up: Harriet Joseph (vocals), Shen (keys), Nick GK (bass) and Joe Wood (drums)

About: Nighttime psych-pop four-piece Mellow Gang made their wondrous debut last year with their ‘Play’ EP which received critical acclaim from the likes of BBC 6 Music, Loud and Quiet, Clash Magazine, London In Stereo and many more. They spent much of their first year playing across the country, this included Oxford’s Ritual Union Festival where they played beside titans of the genre such as Peace, Black Honey, Pinkshinyunltrablast and more.

What Hidden Herd say: Mellow Gang’s music is a glorious psych-tinged sonic explosion, with neo-noir synth work, icy cool vocals and guitar that washes over the whole thing like an ocean licking at the shore in the dead of night.

For fans of: Beach House, Tame Impala, Lana Del Rey

Next shows:‪
Wednesday 7th March – Birmingham @ The Sunflower Lounge
Thursday 8th March – St Albans @ The Horn
Friday 9th March – Oxford @ Modern Art
Saturday 10th March – Cardiff @ Clwb Ifor Bach
Wednesday 14th March – London @ The Waiting Room
Thursday 15th March – Southampton @ Heartbreakers
Friday 16th March – Reading @ Purple Turtle
Saturday 17th March – Bath @ Moles
Sunday 6th May – Leicester @ Handmade
Saturday 19th May – Leeds @ Gold Sounds

Link: facebook.com/mellowgangband

Latest track: ‘Temps’